Friday Fictioneers: Lite-Brite redux

Before the newest Friday on the horizon pops up with the sun, here’s a Friday Fictioneers from almost a week ago.

This took some serious editing to get to 96 words. Really could’ve used about 200! And if you don’t know what a Lite-Brite is, look it up. Great toy!

“What are you doing?” my wife asked, shock on her face.

“Shhh,” I said. “They sat us here, their fault.”

I got out of my chair and began moving bottles around, hurriedly, before the sunlight vanished. I shifted the reds toward the bottom. The whites I stacked like a pyramid. I glanced around, hoping the staff wouldn’t notice.

“Now, what is it?”

My wife hesitated, her face redder than the base that still shone with the disappearing sun.

She squinted her eyes before bursting out: “A ship!”

“Bravo!” came my reply. “You are today’s Lite-Brite champ!”

 

14 Comments

Leave a Reply

