A much-needed walk

Sunday Photo Fiction goes in a different direction this week and it’s a big challenge — like wandering through the desert itself…

I set the rake down. Perfect, I thought as a giant sigh of peacefulness left my lungs.

“Jones!”

The cry came from my boss’s office. My heart skipped a beat.

I looked  at the miniature oasis on my desk and at the pebbles leading from one end to the other. I imagined jumping from rock to rock, nearing the end of a treacherous journey across the Gobi.

“JONES!”

The muscles in my shoulders tightened. My breathing shortened.

My hand itched to pick up the rake. I needed to move the pebbles. I had to adjust the plants. I had to sift the sand.

I resisted. It wasn’t time to dive back into that other world. Soon. After I endured whatever idiotic idea my boss had come up with this time.

I wondered what it would be like to stand up and take my meditation outside and never return.

“JONES, NOW! GET IN HERE!”

I think I’ll rebuild my desert under that big oak I saw in the park on my way to work this morning.

“Keep on yelling, Bossman,” I mumbled, collecting my personal items from my desk. “It won’t do you any good.”

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

